Uniqueness Of Nepal...

Hey travel lovers, what's up? Are you planning to travel? I have a very good place that I'm going to suggest to you if you are searching for the best place to explore. And again, I am writing a blog about my beautiful and blessed by nature country, Nepal. If you have read my other previous blogs, you should know it by now that I am a proud Nepali and it gives me immense pleasure to share information and all the facts about my country.
Nepal is a beautiful country with tons of varieties of flora and fauna, culture and traditions. The citizens or the people of Nepal are known as Nepalese and Nepali is our mother-tongue. We, Nepalese worship our country as a motherland which is truly a masterpiece garden with mesmerizing natural beauty and diverse ethnicity. I have listed down some amazing facts of Nepal that you need to know.

Uniqueness Of Nepal...

A Yam Between Two Large Boulders
Nepal is a small country surrounded by two very giant countries and good neighbors: India and the Republic of  China. Even after being sandwiched between these two countries, Nepal has its own distinct culture. Geographically, Nepal is divided into major three belts: the Terai region, the Pahad region, and the Himal region. Terai is the plain land with forest and rivers in Southern Nepal which is ideal for cultivation. This region is also known by the granary of country Nepal. Pahad is the hilly region with most of the part covered by the tropical forest that lies in between the Himalaya and the Terai region from east to west occupying 68%( percent) of the total land area which is the largest amount of area in total. Himal is the Himalaya region which consists of the several top mountains of the world like Mount Everest and Annapurna Range. 
Unique Flag
Nepal’s flag is the only flag in the world which is not rectangular but triangular. The unique flag of Nepal has two triangles with sun and moon in it with a blue boundary. It contains three colors: crimson(red), blue and white. Crimson indicates the blood, bravery, and victory of Nepalese in the war. Red is also a color of rhododendron, the national flower of Nepal. Likewise, blue is the symbol of sky and peace which represents peace and harmony of the country. The moon is in the upper triangle and the sun is in the lower triangle which is white in color representing light and awakening. It is said that the flag of Nepal was traced 2000 years ago.
Uniqueness Of Nepal...

Unique Flag Of Nepal
Highest Mountains on Earth
Nepal is one of the five countries which is rich in mountains and consists of the highest mountain in the world. Out of the ten highest peaks in the world, Nepal has eight highest mountains which are more than 8000 meters above sea level. This is why Nepal is called “Eight Thousand”. The highest mountain of the world, Mount Everest or Sagarmatha lies in Nepal with  8848 meters. Mount Everest is known as Sagarmatha in Nepali and Chomolungma in Tibetan which means the goddess of the sky or the holy mother and thousands of people every year try to make the top of these giants. The other seven highest peaks that lie in the same range of Nepal are Annapurna I, Manaslu, Dhaulagiri, Cho Oyu, Makalu, Lhotse, and Kanchenjunga. Thousands of tourists visit Nepal to trek just for a glimpse of a beautiful sunrise from the mountains.
Kathmandu was once a lake
The geological and mythological study of Nepal’s history confirms that the capital city of Nepal, Kathmandu was a huge lake. The mythology holds that the Tibetan saint, Manjushree flew to Kathmandu and he cut the Chovar ridge into two halves with his mighty sword. This drained waters in the fertile sacred valley of Kathmandu. There is a Manjushree temple in Chovar which was built relying on the mythological belief. From the geological study, it says that the lake was not drained at once it took lots of years and stage to drain.
Living Goddess
Nepal is the only country in the world that has and worship living goddess which is called "Kumari". The literal meaning of Kumari here in Nepali is unmarried and is known as a living representation or symbol of the Hindu goddess Taleju. As per the tradition, people take a young girl to live in a royal palace as a Royal Kumari. All the facilities for kumari like education, health, and care are provided in the royal palace. Another young girl replaces her after she reaches a certain age. There are three different Living Goddess Kumari in three main districts of the valley: Lalitpur, Kathmandu & Bhaktapur. Kumaris are kept in the temple on different occasions so that people can worship her and take her blessings. Also, on the day of Indra Jatra (Hindu festival of Nepal), Kumari is placed in the chariot and along with the other two chariots it is carried around the alleys of Kathmandu Durbar Square.

Yeti is the mysterious creature that is said to be residing in the Himalayas of Nepal. No one has ever seen Yeti but people have images which all are only imaginable however, there has been much research in this sector. Scientists do not believe in the existence of any Yeti as the samples taken to research the all sample failed because Yeti only lived in myth.

Birthplace of Lord Buddha
Gautam Buddha or Siddhartha Gautam was born in 623 B.C as prince Siddhartha in the royal family of Kapilvastu, Lumbini. Lumbini in the Rupandehi district western region of Nepal and is a sacred place for all the Buddhists all around the world. As per the Buddhist holy book, Jataka, Buddha left his wife, son his parents and kingdom to get the light of knowledge. After deep meditation, he achieved enlightenment and became the Buddha. He is also known as the avatars of Lord Bishnu and the Light of Asia and one of. There are many monasteries in Nepal practicing the lessons and disciples of the Buddha,
Garden of 4 castes and 36 subcastes
It is believed that the caste originated from the Hindu and there is the belief it was the first originated in  Malla reign, it was classified into 4 major caste - Brahmin-priest, Kshatriya-warrior, Bhaisa-trader, and Sudra-worker based on the occupation people in which they are involved in. Late King Prithivi Narayan Shah the creator of Nepal and a true leader (first Shah king of the royal dynasty) unified Nepal and declared it a garden of 4 castes and 36 sub-castes. Nepal has an uncountable culture with over 80 ethnic groups and 123 plus languages are spoken by Nepali from all over the country.
World Heritage Sites
There are ten world heritage sites in Nepal which is identified by UNESCO. Out of 10, all the 7 sites are in the capital city of the country, Kathmandu and other 3 sites are outside the capital city. The wonders listed below are man-made and are over 2500 years old.
  • Pashupatinath Temple
  • Swayambhunath Stupa
  • Boudhanath Stupa
  • Kathmandu Durbar Square
  • Patan Durbar Square
  • Bhaktapur Durbar Square
  • Changunarayan Temple
  • Lumbini
  • Chitwan National Park
  • Sagarmatha National Park
Gurkha soldiers
Nepal is also renowned for Gurkha soldiers who protected Nepal from the British people. The power and bravery of Gorkhali were witnessed by the world when the British East India Company invaded Nepal over 200 years ago. The British were impressed with the motto “Better to die than be a coward” and they have signed a treaty with Nepal which allows Nepalese to join British Army Force. To join in the army, the soldiers have to go through very hard and tough training and if qualified, they are awarded the national weapon which is “ Khukuri”

Post a Comment